top of page

#Rarerecommendations: Romantic Films That Are Actually Good


Romantic Movies


Ah, romantic movies. A phenomenon that has single-handedly churned out a generation of melodramatics. I must admit I was never the biggest fan of love stories, but recently I’ve changed my tune on that (being in a serious relationship definitely is a big factor). In my opinion, a lot of romantic films are simply not that good, but these ones actually are. So, What do I mean by “actually good”? A film which does not glorify a relationship, but presents a realistic and credible view on it. Make your way through this list and you will figure out what I am talking about.





1. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)



Eternal Sunshine is a film which I can say fondly reminds me of what heartbreak feels like. It starts off after the break up between Joel and Clementine has already happened. From there it is a series of flashbacks into their past present and future as they struggle to embrace the fact, that they can never be together. This movie provides you with something that traditional rom-coms never could, i.e poignancy.




2. Her (2013)



The first sci-fi romance film I have ever seen and probably the best one out there. Her is the love story for the modern times; a man in love with his OS. The movie is not interested in staying limited to the novelty of a tagline, but in fact, uses it to explore how it feels to be truly loved by someone or something.


Available on: Netflix




3. The Big Sick (2017)



A surprise hit from 2017, that is likely to melt even the hardest of exteriors. A reel recreation of the real-life love story of Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V Gordon. This film is unique and thoughtful in ways that I can’t even explain. It will make you laugh, cry and fall in love with the characters over and over again. This film also comes in as one of the funniest films I have ever seen.


Available on: Prime Video



4. The Shape Of Water (2018)



The best picture winner of 2018 was, unbelievably, a love story directed by the Master of Madness, Guillermo del Toro. The same person who is known for helming bonkers action movies like Pacific Rim and Mad Max Fury Road. But you would be remiss in assuming that The Shape Of Water is alike any other romance movie. Exploring the relationship between a sea monster and a mute woman, this film is sure to open up your perception of what love is.


Available on: Disney Hotstar +



5. Marriage Story (2019)



Now, I am bending the rules here a little bit on what constitutes a romantic film. However, the movie is so good I just had to recommend it to those who haven’t seen it yet. The film tells a personal and heartwrenching story about a husband and wife who once were thought to be made for each other, but the married life drew them apart to a point, that the damage done was irrevocable. Marriage story not only deals with heartbreak but shows the concept of divorce in a realistic fashion. Something which is rare in the film world.


Available on: Netflix



So that was my personal list of some of the most impactful romance movies I have seen throughout my life. What does yours look like? I’m open to all sorts of recommendations and additions, as long as they are good.


I curated a list of films that are remarkably good but are also sure to aggravate your claustrophobia. Check it out right here.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page